[Rest] Lack Thereof

Didnt do too much resting this past wk – or today, for that matter. Overall, it was a suck-ass wk for me. I cant even believe the crap that happened even though it started so nicely with the celebration of my birthday. Having my laptop stolen was bad enough, but then my students drew me over the edge with their incessant whining. -__- I’m not kidding. Can anyone say MANIPULATION? Tears are like blackmail and they know it. I dont want that class to ever speak to me again.

Oh yea – rest. So, I have been trying to get myself more organized this yr so that I can spend more time doing the things I NEED to do – rest, as well as the things I want to do. I even downloaded a free e-book from some other blog I cant remember, but the site is called Inspired to Action. It’s really for busy moms, but I found it helpful, too, even if it is a bit simplistic. I plan to look it over again. She gives nice charts and handouts to help you start organizing your morning routine. I dont know if I really have the motivation to do it, but honestly I feel like it’s what I should’ve been doing for the past x-number of yrs now. And if I dont make it a habit soon, it’ll be worse once I start having kids.

I’ve been keeping up so far with half of my New Yr’s Resolutions. The ones that have to do with reading anyway. 😛 And I love how God even ties them in with what I need to speak on or mention at church. I’m a bit behind on My Utmost for His Highest, but since that’s a daily devo, I dont mind skipping a few days. They arent consecutive in theme or thought. Hubby and I have also missed a few days of Love Dare Journal. But those are very simple, too. We can catch up tonite. And speaking of night — I have to start going to bed earlier. Sigh. Rest and sleep. They’re sorta related.

*****************

My Sunday blogs are dedicated to Books, Rest and Health. I guess I should call it a Sabbath post since that’s more in line with what I want to achieve this yr – sabbath. I’m hoping that blogging about my struggles to rest will keep me accountable to actually achieving that rest. Books are a major factor in resting. If I’m reading, then I’m relaxed. And I’m not talking about reading my Google Reader! 😛 I do that EVERYDAY. -__- I mean, reading good books, even e-books. As long as they’re books. Resting can also include napping or sitting quietly. Even reading the Bible or a devotional. And Health is all about how trying to achieve this sabbath will help stave off my anxiety attacks and improve my sleep. Need to get myself healthy. I’m 32 and I want to have healthy babies… 😉

Leave a Reply

