Today’s Scripture Readings

I randomly did a Lectio Divina this morning using UpperRoom.org. I get their e-devotionals daily because they are the kind that are designed to make you pause and reflect – something I’m desperately trying to make a habit in this new yr lest my health fail. The devotional always links you to several devotional exercises and I chose to click on the Lectio Divina link today. The Scripture I chose was this:

“Be still, and know that I am God! I am exalted among the nations, I am exalted in the earth.”
The LORD of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge. — Psalm 46:10-11 (NRSV)

I purposely chose it, of course, b/c of truly desiring for that stillness before God, and of course to know Him. And as I read it, I realized that it says BE STILL and KNOW. Pretty obvious, I know! Except that I never connected the two thoughts before! To BE STILL and this leads to KNOWING God. Wow. Not that you absolutely CANT know God in the serving and moving. Just that for me, those are the ways I’ve always known Him. But, when I’m ‘still’ – when I’m in prayer – the real revelations come. I need to explore new ways of being still this yr – silence, meditation, solitude, simplicity. Simplicity starts, I know, with getting rid of my many many books! 😛 (And my MIL is hoping I’ll convince the DH to get rid of his as well, lols!)

Another form of ‘stillness’ in my life has to come in the form of
getting away from this damned internet! -__-
Sigh. I hate being a slave.

Additional readings today – Jan 3rd entry from My Utmost for His Highest (check!); as well as my chronological Bible readings for today: Gen 4-7 (to come later).

BTW – I went to B&N to get a new journal – a nice thick moleskin graphpaper-like one. I like the graph paper. Keeps everything neater IMO. Took the first page to write my New Yr’s Resolutions. I would love to go thru all my old Conference/Convention Journals and take the important notes and transfer them to the new journal since I dont need all those notebooks… Too much work? I think it may be. Sigh! Besides, I have to go digging to find the older ones, which means I have to finally get my act together and clean out my closet. Grrr… Maybe I should just do the recent ones – Reload Youth Conf from last Jan, and URBANA, from which I’ve just returned. That’ll be a little easier. I wanted to transfer my seminary notes, too… Better do it now before I start class again in a few wks. Aiya… Thank goodness, just one OT class at ATS Manhattan ctr this semester, and hopefully I can purchase that first course I need for my pastoral license! 😉

Leave a Reply

