Bento #1

This is a few days overdue.

My new bento box

My new bento box

I’ve been obsessed with reading Bento blogs lately, like Bento Box Blueprints and Adventures in Bento-making.  I also watch a Bento community on LiveJournal. All of this on my Google Reader, of course. 😀

And in an effort to really begin watching what I eat and making sure I dont get tempted to eat the crap that’s sold around my school, I’ve decided to invest in making my own bentos. I bought a bunch of cute bento accessories like onigiri molds and some containers to hold stuff in that I didnt want to get mixed with other food. I also bought mini cosmetic bottles to hold any liquids – sauces and dressings – that I may want to have with me.

Onigiri molds

Onigiri molds

I am really loving all of this and it motivates me to take more of an interest in what I’m eating. This is a good thing. I’m getting old. 😛 The doc says my blood tests show I’m borderline anemic and low in triglycerides. I’m also borderline high cholesterol. Sigh. I’m not in my 20s anymore! >_< So, definitely needing to be more mindful of what goes in my mouth. The doc has me on prescription iron pills. T__T I need to cook more of my own food, and that’s what I’m trying to do.

So, I finally made my first bento lunch in time for Parent/Teacher conferences last Thurs. I would be at work from 7am – 7pm and needed lunch plus a mid-afternoon snack to tie me over til I got home and had dinner. I actually should’ve added breakfast, but let’s not get too ambitious, eh? I need to re-think breakfast in general! 😛 I’ll get there…

I took pix, as I plan to do each time I make a bento. Maybe I’ll start adding my bentos into the community on LJ. So, here was my first bento:

First of all, you have to understand, my new bento box has two layers. The bottom (which is featured on top is actually white, but these two dividers: blue and red sit on top. The blue is actually a container and the red just goes over what’s underneath. It serves as a secondary tray. Both are removable, but you need to replace them in order to properly close the box again. The white part on the bottom actually fits on top and is split into two container areas.

I had made halibut with potatoes, green peppers, asparagus, onion and spinich baked in tomato/garlic/olive oil the night before for dinner. Yum yum! My first try and I think it came out pretty well. I made enough to take some with me the next day. That was the main part of my meal, so I put it on the bottom. I needed something to go in the small blue container, so

I added fruit – a cutie orange, which my fiance buys and peels the stickers off to let me know he thinks I’m a cutie! 😀 I surrounded it with dried apricots.

For the top part, I put in what I planned to eat as a snack – a regular sandwich. I hadn’t bought cold-cuts or bread in a while and decided to buy some for a quick throw-together lunch. Glad I did! I used 2 slices of rye bread, turkey, cheese, mustard and canola mayo. I would normally never desecrate my sandwich with mayo, but canola mayo is actually supposed to be good for you, so I thought I’d try it. Still getting used to the taste.

I cut the sandwich in half and put one half on top of the other so it would fit. In the compartment next to it, I added what no sandwich would be complete without: pickles and olives! At the last moment, I decided to use the olives to make a face. I cut a slice of pickle for the smile. 😀 The whole point of making bentos is to make them so cute you’ll enjoy eating your food. Enjoying food is a lost art in the West. We just gobble whatever the media tells us looks good and seems to taste good. But, we dont actually know what we’re eating and how much damage it does to our systems. I’m trying to recover 30 yrs of damage done to my body. 😛 I’m 31 now. Let the re-programming begin!

This is what it looked like in the end: I was quite pleased! 🙂

Leave a Reply

