Home is where your Tatami is

tatami room

tatami room

Yes, I admit, I’m thinking domestically today. I have been deeply excited about the prospect of decorating a new home! (Not that we have one yet…) But, just the thought of having a new place that we can call our very own, grow in love, raise a family, minister and hopefully pass on to our children is a dream! It really is a dream. Not many people have a bed to sleep in much less a place to call a ‘home.’ Not to be confused w/merely having a house or apt. A HOME is so much more.

My ideal style of home may be a surprise to you, but I really love Japanese-style homes. I love the idea of having a room full of nothing but tatami mats. It can be whatever you make it to be, as tatami rooms are usually multi-functioned anyway. For the ‘mansion’ Tom and I will be living in, I would love to have one room for prayer and have it be a tatami room. Yes, the tatamis cost money and yes, we’ll need more than one, but it saves on the furniture we wont end up buying for that room b/c it’s already filled. There’s something so appealing to me about tatamis. You can sit, lay, stand, lounge and it’s comfortable. We may need some cushions and back rests – esp for our more Western friends who cant sit on a floor cross-legged without breaking something, *snortgiggle* – but overall, it’ll be sparse. It’ll be serene. It’ll be sacred. I love sacred spaces for prayer! LOVE THEM. I want a sacred space for prayer in my home. And what better than to combine my two interests and make it one serenely sacred room?

What does your ideal home look like?

One comment on “Home is where your Tatami is

Leave a Reply

