When a Student is Jumped

Yesterday morning, an 8th grade girl I dont even know came to my classroom before Homeroom and informed me that one of my 8th graders was hit by a van. He was knocked unconscious and then the guys got out of the van and jumped him.

It’s only the 2nd wk of school. My school is a safe haven, unlike many many schools in the City. My student wasnt hurt near the grounds, but somewhere near his home, as far as I’m aware.

I had only a few seconds to register this news before Homeroom began and my 8th graders began streaming into my tiny classroom. I put it out of my mind for the rest of the day.

This morning, when his seat was empty again, I was reminded of what had happened. Then, he walked in. He asked to speak to me after the 1st period bell rang. I had a class, but I made them wait in the hall. He explained to me what had happened, and I told him I was happy that he came in and looked all right. I told him I would call the school counselor and make sure she saw him… And then, my classes began and I forgot. Guilty feelings abound. I have to make sure it’s the first thing I do in the morning before I start teaching my early morning ESL students.

I am sad. What do you do when your kid is hurt? When they seem to not know why, and you’re helpless to do anything about it. At least he came back to school. Surprising in and of itself. He’s 16 and still in 8th grade. Maybe I should keep him in during lunch tomorrow and talk to him some more. I have him for Homeroom and for SHOP. So, I will be interacting with him quite a bit this yr.

It’s been hard for me to see my students and my school as a ministry. I did in the beginning, before I started working at CCHC. Now that CCHC/CLL encompasses most of my ministry, it sorta crowds everything else out. I’ve had dreams that my kids are doing spiritual things, my colleague and I pray each wk during a free period for our school, and even my Scotty had a vision last yr that I was surrounded by my kids and we were praying. [I think.] So, I know God has a plan for me to be at my school. I love it there. I’m an alum. Maybe that’s the problem, tho. I’m too comfortable? I think that’s one of the reasons God took me out of there the first time around. I do want to minister. I do. God’s given me a lot of grace this yr. I need to reflect more. I need to pray for them more. Yes. Pray. Read aloud God’s Word. Fast. Share.

If I plan to be there the next 21 yrs, I’d better start praying hard… now.

Leave a Reply

